Waiting on Wednesday | Jul 8

Waiting on Wednesday written in red script, surrounded by red and green leaves. File name: waiting-on-wednesday.png

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme that first originated with Jill at Breaking the Spine. It has now linked up with Tressa at Wishful Endings (under Can’t Wait Wednesday). You can view Tressa’s post here.


This Week’s Post

Something to Say by Lisa Moore Ramee
Link: https://i0.wp.com/i.gr-assets.com/images/S/compressed.photo.goodreads.com/books/1582745748l/52400423._SX318_SY475_.jpg?w=620&ssl=1

Something to Say by Lisa Moore Ramee
Release Date: July 14, 2020

A story about a young girl finding her voice when a sudden change takes place in her school. I’m looking forward for this book to come out into the world…which is soon!


Synopsis

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.

Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn’t have any friends—and she’s just fine with that. She’s so good at being invisible in school, it’s almost like she has a superpower, like her idol, Astrid Dane. At home, Jenae has plenty of company, like her no-nonsense mama; her older brother, Malcolm, who is home from college after a basketball injury; and her beloved grandpa, Gee.

Then a new student shows up at school—a boy named Aubrey with fiery red hair and a smile that won’t quit. Jenae can’t figure out why he keeps popping up everywhere she goes. The more she tries to push him away, the more he seems determined to be her friend. Despite herself, Jenae starts getting used to having him around.

But when the two are paired up for a class debate about the proposed name change for their school, Jenae knows this new friendship has an expiration date. Aubrey is desperate to win and earn a coveted spot on the debate team.

There’s just one problem: Jenae would do almost anything to avoid speaking up in front of an audience—including risking the first real friendship she’s ever had.


Are you excited about ‘Something to Say’ like I am? Feel free to share!



Connect With Me:

Leave a Reply