‘The Benefits of Breathing’ | Book Review

The Benefits of Breathing by Christopher Meeks. Link: https://gm1.ggpht.com/SGqxOkLO9PkXA0QCf4A0hcDJANk7g29B1H7nMk5JPr-PtCvCG6L96x7yeye4F5oLC52W3yPJfsZg7gyqUa-2eb_NWW3BiA-nxTnHdyOVc97Epbef78tvXDCxCzA86vucN5wI1ybarfC8Uf2XQVuYSQILb39-_3MglHcAQalP_RpxeuKLGJbDQJbpvbW_W5bjUi0QOPpirMj8vKD8GnVyOJ359mP2tBv4ft9ktoCk6rZmZcbeK4Lz-Bkl3kYBzwRo4sawK4bCL3WbCHlje0v-sfia7CktOSpyYOxfeaXzQgzXw6knNRyMV1sXLKqBxggmuB9EeA4oebG2vSVvApajaHq96eyWkOmhy3rgOij__QxNUeHmotsQWWVK6ifOJ94x-dLB0aUu7e_kqb6azVExbvrH6V_rNObmHCuizKTzwZoLaVbaPhbH4NDtFdaZaq40G0_EE2PqYEhvzoHIA31acuh9UvaTT_5R6aPfaDdwHf7cGoexaZ7_jPXs5IRkoFi6opxsP0GJiXUmM-Tga9ubqkr0qsFVI5yRSWMbPmUzrz_habjQp-feJR9rQKebQNDakjZDYB1AsW0xGCxPxkUJIPyqu4d-YQBXpT6RsL-bhEdXsr6s8G6-95WEOp6yxoFlrkILGAY7E8Lj0BmTm926y3vONuwuuHUt82sxWnprwDapJRhSjcpeaoFf-jtSXlut9K1SLSB8cfPh_Y4OqjfOAXQcHggNRw-4uE1Y2Ia8q3Y6Fv815BbnieufPHcs6ASFCnGx3w=s0-l75-ft-l75-ft

‘The Benefits of Breathing’ is a collection of stories by Christopher Meeks. Thank you to Blackthorn Book Tours for allowing me to take part. I couldn’t wait to begin this heartfelt compilation!

‘The Benefits of Breathing’ Book Information

The Benefits of Breathing, Stories by Christopher Meeks. Link: https://i.gr-assets.com/images/S/compressed.photo.goodreads.com/books/1595437627l/54637786._SY475_.jpg

The Benefits of Breathing: Stories by Christopher Meeks
Genre: Literary Short Stories
Length: 240 pages
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: May 21, 2020

Amazon

Synopsis

As Roderick Clark says in the Foreword, “It’s all about love, isn’t it?

In The Benefits of Breathing, Meeks dives again into the human condition, particularly within relationships. As one reader wrote on Amazon, “Some authors need a lot of words to describe their worlds and their people. Christopher Meeks says a lot with a little.” 

The Los Angeles Times has called his stories “poignant and wise.” In this volume, “A Dog Story” captures a crumbled marriage and the love of a dog named Scrappy. “Joni Paredes” shows the birth of a new relationship that starts at a daughter’s wedding. “Nestor by the Numbers” follows one man’s often hilarious online dating experiences after he finally accepts his wife is gone. “Jerry with a Twist” shows an actor on an audition while his pregnant girlfriend helps him through a crisis. These and seven other stories will bring you into the special world of Meeks.

As author James Jordan on Goodreads “My reward for reading Christopher Meeks’s marvelous collection of eleven stories, The Benefits of Breathing, was no less than an epiphany about great literature generally and specifically an insight into why this compendium of short fiction is great literature. ” 

“If you like Raymond Carver,” said author David Scott Milton, “you’ll love Meeks.”

‘Author Information’

Chris Meeks, author of 'The Benefits of Breathing'.

Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in award-winning collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. This third collection, The Benefits of Breathing, was published this year.

Meeks also writes novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century centers on a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years. Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes it as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” Meeks’ next novel, Love at Absolute Zero, focuses on a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate–and he has just three days to do it. 

Blood Drama has Meeks edge into a thriller. Most recently, A Death in Vegas is a mystery. Now he’s joined Army veteran Samuel Gonzalez, Jr., for a visceral tour of Iraq with the men and women on the front lines in Baqubah in The Chords of War. It’s about a musician, kicked out of his own band, joining the Army for discipline. He plunges into the horrors of combat. He tries to hold on with his music.  

Website | Twitter | Facebook

My Review

The Benefits of Breathing is such a heartfelt collection stories. Christopher Meeks writes such a profound range of human emotion. In each story, people are searching for the meaning for love and humanity.

I found these 11 stories both moving and enjoyable. You can feel these characters going through intense breakthroughs that benefited their well being. Christopher Meeks writes with a raw honesty that readers can truly resonate with. I deeply appreciate Meeks’ ability to craft tales filled with beauty.

I recommend The Benefits of Breathing to those searching for quick yet meaningful stories. You won’t be disappointed in this moving compilation!

Thank you to Blackthorn Book Tours for a gifted copy!

Will you place Christopher Meeks’ collection in your TBR pile? Feel free to share your thoughts below!

Contact Cathleen!

Leave a Reply