‘The Place Below’ by Dan Fitzgerald | Book Tour

The Place Below by Dan Fitzgerald.

It’s my tour stop for ‘The Place Below’ Book Tour! This is the exciting conclusion of The Maer Cycle trilogy. Thank you to Storytellers on Tour for allowing me to take part! Click on the introduction post for more information.

The Place BelowBook Information

The Place Below by Dan Fitzgerald

The Place Below by Dan Fitzgerald
Book 3 in the Maer Cycle trilogy
Publisher: Shadow Spark Publishing
Length: 291 pages
Age Group: Adult
Release Date: March 4, 2021

Goodreads | Amazon


It’s been twenty-five years since the Battle for the Archive. Peace reigns over the Silver Hills, and humans and Maer are preparing to sign their first trade agreement. Even warring tribes of the Free Maer have set aside old quarrels.

Sasha is a young scholar of mixed Maer and human parentage, traveling throughout the Maer lands collecting stories of the Ka-lar, the buried Forever Kings. She finds a reference in the Archive to a Ka-lar named Kuun, a scholar in life, who was laid down in an ancient brightstone mine, beneath a mountain said to be the home of the fabled Skin Maer. The lure of the tale is too strong to resist. Joined by some old friends, Sasha sets out to uncover secrets that have lain buried for over a thousand years.

In The Place Below, the Maer Cycle comes to a close as the darkest mysteries of the Maer are at last brought into the light.

The Place Below: Author Bio

The Place Below author Dan Fitzgerald.

Dan Fitzgerald is a fantasy author living in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Washington, DC with his wife, twin boys, and two cats. When he is not writing, he might be gardening, taking photographs of nature, doing yoga, cooking, or listening to French music. The Maer Cycle is his debut trilogy, with Hollow Road and The Archive on several book bloggers’ best-of lists for 2020, and The Place Below coming March 4 2021. His upcoming duology, The Weirdwater Confluence, will be published in October 2021 and January 2022. All books published by Shadow Spark Publishing.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

My Review

I’m happy to dive into the world of the Silver Hills once again! In this installment, a new character named Sasha sets out to explore the history of stories of old. Although a new band of characters join Sasha, it was refreshing to see some familiar faces from previous books on her journey.

I love that a time jump takes place in this installment. This portrays a renewed look in Silver Hills. New ways of living are established. Both humans and Maer work toward a deeper understanding. Additionally, characters from earlier books emerge, yet they clearly made their own life paths. This is wonderful way to wrap up one groups’ exploration while following some fresh faces in their adventures.

I love following the Maer Cycle trilogy, and I felt that it was a satisfying conclusion. I look forward to seeing more of what Dan Fitzgerald writes next!

The Maer Cycle Giveaway

It’s Giveaway Time!!! One lucky winner will receive signed copies of Hollow Road, The Archive, and The Place Below! You’ll also receive some artwork and Hollow Road character cards!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Click on the banner below to view the other fabulous presenters for ‘The Place Below’ tour!

The Place Below Tour Banner

Contact Cathleen!

Leave a Reply