Book Tour: Rupert’s Snowman by Phillipa Warden

Today is my tour stop for Rupert’s Snowman by Phillipa Warden! Thank you so much to Love Books Tours for letting me participate. Click on the link for more information on their exciting tours!

Book Information

Rupert’s Snowman by Phillipa Warden
Publisher: Purple Butterfly Press
Length: 46 Pages
Genre: Children’s Literature
Release Date: September 15, 2020

Synopsis

It’s Christmas Eve and a perfect snow day, or so it seems. Sledging, building snowmen, making snow angels and having snowball fights. But wait! What is this? Why is Rupert racing back up the hill? Join him and his mummy as they are forced to embark on a Snowy Adventure Rescue…

My Review

Rupert’s Snowman is a very lovely holiday tale! I enjoyed every moment of Rupert’s adventure as he and his mom take part in wintry fun. The illustrations are rich, maintaining a wonderful winter themed aesthetic. Whether you’re searching for winter books for your child, or if you’re an educator searching for seasonal material, Rupert’s Snowman is a perfect addition to your child’s library!

I especially love Rupert and his mom venturing outside spending some time playing in the snow. This is something I loved when I was younger, spending forever outdoors creating snow forts and snow angels!

If you’re searching for the perfect holiday story for all ages, Rupert’s Snowman is for you!

Thank you so much to Love Books Tours for the gifted copy!

Come check out the other fabulous reviewers on the Rupert’s Snowman tour!

Book Tour: Roughly Speaking by Eddie Gibbons

It’s my tour stop for Roughly Speaking: New and Selected Poems by Eddie Gibbons! Thank you so much to Love Books Tours for allowing me to participate. Click on the link above for more info about their tours!

Book Information

Roughly Speaking : New and Selected Poems by Eddie Gibbons
Publisher: Leamington Books
Length: 98 pages
Genre: Poetry

Amazon

Synopsis

Every poet has a drawerful of rejection letters.

The poems in Roughly Speaking by Eddie Gibbons have for many years – some since as long ago as 1969 – lived in the shadows of their siblings who went on to have wildly exciting lives in Eddie’s published poetry collections. Roughly Speaking is Eddie Gibbons’ fifth volume of poetry and contains both new and rejected poems. Though some of the works included in Roughly Speaking have had brief moments of infamy in poetry magazines, the majority have never seen the bright light of public acceptance, their prime achievement to date being the collection of rejection slips. To keep these overlooked orphans company there is a small band of brand new poems, although the readers will have to make up their minds which is which.

Author Information

Eddie Gibbons was born in Huyton, Liverpool. He moved to Scotland in 1981. His first collection, Stations of the Heart, was published in 1999, when he was fifty. 

In 2008, he was a prize winner in the inaugural Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition. His fifth collection, What They Say About You, was shortlisted for the Scottish Poetry Book of the Year award in 2011. 

A regional judge for the Faber/Ottakars National Poetry Competition, Eddie has been a guest reader at the Berlin British Council, Stanza International Poetry Festival, Dundee Literary Festival, Aberdeen University WORD Festival, and the Edinburgh International Book Festival.

My Review

**Thank you to Love Books Tours for the gifted digital copy of Roughly Speaking. All thoughts and opinions are my own.** #ad

Along with being an avid reader, I’m also a huge poetry lover! I normally don’t come across poetry to feature and review, so I’m glad that this book came my way. Roughly Speaking has Eddie Gibbons deliver his creative arts to his audience. Poets reflect on everything surrounding one’s life, and I felt Gibbons delivers this accurately. I really appreciate that this volume consists of pieces that faced rejection throughout the years. These poems are very insightful and to the point. Many aren’t very long, but they deliver very insightful messages.

If you’re searching for a poetry that highlights persistence and creativity, then Roughly Speaking is a great fit for you!

Book Blitz: Still Water by Amy Stuart

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Thursday!

This week I’m partnering with Love Books Tours to bring you ‘Still Water’ by Amy Stuart! This is part of the Clare O’ Dey series. I usually read a mix of Historical Fiction and Thrillers, so ‘Still Water’ is a great addition to my list!

Still Water: Book Blurb

How do you find the truth in a town full of secrets?

When Sally Proulx and her son mysteriously disappear from the stormy town of High River, Clare O’Dey is hired to track them down. She hopes to find them alive, but High River is not a typical town. It is a place where women go to escape their past. The women run to Helen Haines, the community matriarch, who offers them safe haven and anonymity.

Pretending to be Sally’s long lost friend, Clare starts asking questions but nothing prepares her for the deception and lies simmering beneath the surface of this quiet little neighbourhood. As the truth surges through High River, Clare must confront the thing she has been so desperately running from, even if it comes at a devastating cost.

Gripping, twisty and compulsive, Still Water is a deep dive of a thriller that will leave you breathless! Perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Liz Nugent.

Amazon Link

Amy Stuart’s Twitter & Instagram

A look at Canelo Crime!

Contact Cathleen!