Book Tour: Rupert’s Snowman by Phillipa Warden

Today is my tour stop for Rupert’s Snowman by Phillipa Warden! Thank you so much to Love Books Tours for letting me participate. Click on the link for more information on their exciting tours!

Book Information

Rupert’s Snowman by Phillipa Warden
Publisher: Purple Butterfly Press
Length: 46 Pages
Genre: Children’s Literature
Release Date: September 15, 2020

Synopsis

It’s Christmas Eve and a perfect snow day, or so it seems. Sledging, building snowmen, making snow angels and having snowball fights. But wait! What is this? Why is Rupert racing back up the hill? Join him and his mummy as they are forced to embark on a Snowy Adventure Rescue…

My Review

Rupert’s Snowman is a very lovely holiday tale! I enjoyed every moment of Rupert’s adventure as he and his mom take part in wintry fun. The illustrations are rich, maintaining a wonderful winter themed aesthetic. Whether you’re searching for winter books for your child, or if you’re an educator searching for seasonal material, Rupert’s Snowman is a perfect addition to your child’s library!

I especially love Rupert and his mom venturing outside spending some time playing in the snow. This is something I loved when I was younger, spending forever outdoors creating snow forts and snow angels!

If you’re searching for the perfect holiday story for all ages, Rupert’s Snowman is for you!

Thank you so much to Love Books Tours for the gifted copy!

Come check out the other fabulous reviewers on the Rupert’s Snowman tour!

Book Tour: Roughly Speaking by Eddie Gibbons

It’s my tour stop for Roughly Speaking: New and Selected Poems by Eddie Gibbons! Thank you so much to Love Books Tours for allowing me to participate. Click on the link above for more info about their tours!

Book Information

Roughly Speaking : New and Selected Poems by Eddie Gibbons
Publisher: Leamington Books
Length: 98 pages
Genre: Poetry

Amazon

Synopsis

Every poet has a drawerful of rejection letters.

The poems in Roughly Speaking by Eddie Gibbons have for many years – some since as long ago as 1969 – lived in the shadows of their siblings who went on to have wildly exciting lives in Eddie’s published poetry collections. Roughly Speaking is Eddie Gibbons’ fifth volume of poetry and contains both new and rejected poems. Though some of the works included in Roughly Speaking have had brief moments of infamy in poetry magazines, the majority have never seen the bright light of public acceptance, their prime achievement to date being the collection of rejection slips. To keep these overlooked orphans company there is a small band of brand new poems, although the readers will have to make up their minds which is which.

Author Information

Eddie Gibbons was born in Huyton, Liverpool. He moved to Scotland in 1981. His first collection, Stations of the Heart, was published in 1999, when he was fifty. 

In 2008, he was a prize winner in the inaugural Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition. His fifth collection, What They Say About You, was shortlisted for the Scottish Poetry Book of the Year award in 2011. 

A regional judge for the Faber/Ottakars National Poetry Competition, Eddie has been a guest reader at the Berlin British Council, Stanza International Poetry Festival, Dundee Literary Festival, Aberdeen University WORD Festival, and the Edinburgh International Book Festival.

My Review

**Thank you to Love Books Tours for the gifted digital copy of Roughly Speaking. All thoughts and opinions are my own.** #ad

Along with being an avid reader, I’m also a huge poetry lover! I normally don’t come across poetry to feature and review, so I’m glad that this book came my way. Roughly Speaking has Eddie Gibbons deliver his creative arts to his audience. Poets reflect on everything surrounding one’s life, and I felt Gibbons delivers this accurately. I really appreciate that this volume consists of pieces that faced rejection throughout the years. These poems are very insightful and to the point. Many aren’t very long, but they deliver very insightful messages.

If you’re searching for a poetry that highlights persistence and creativity, then Roughly Speaking is a great fit for you!

T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes | Book Tour

Today is my tour stop for T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes by Anna Lazowski! Thank you to Turn the Page Tours for letting me take part. For more info on Turn the Page Tours, click on their name above!

Book Information

T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes by Anna Lazowski
Illustrated by Steph Laberis
Publisher: Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Genre: Children’s (Picture Book)
Release Date: June 29, 2021

Penguin Random House

T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes: Synopsis

A funny and encouraging alphabetic book about all the things animals CAN’T do but kids CAN! Every parent teaching their children new skills will be happy to have this super-positive picture book on hand.

Bees can’t ride bicycles, penguins can’t play ping-pong, and zebras can’t go zip-lining. No one is good at everything, but that shouldn’t stop you from trying! Here is a funny and encouraging picture book for any child learning how to tie their shoes, ride a bike, spell their name, or do a variety of new things.

Follow a hilarious alphabet of animals, and see all the things they can’t do but kids can—from doing gymnastics to flipping pancakes to playing a xylophone. Along the way, young readers will learn that it’s okay if they can’t do everything; they can still have a LOT of fun trying.

Author Information

T Rexes Can't Tie Their Shoes by Anna Lazowski

Anna Lazowski wrote her first picture book for a class assignment in the sixth grade and has been creating stories ever since. Now an award-winning radio producer, Anna has an MA (Journalism) from the University of Western Ontario and a BFA (Hons.) from the University of Manitoba.

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

My Review

This is such an adorable picture book! Being an early childhood educator, I was thrilled while reading T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes. It teaches children their ABC’s with heartwarming illustrations! Each image portrays an act that animals would have huge difficulty with. I mean, have we ever seen a bee ride a bicycle?? Of course not! Yet this doesn’t stop the bee or the t-rex from completing their task. Reading this book encourages children that they too can complete a challenge with patience!

I can totally see young children enjoying this picture book. They’ll love the humorous images of animals. Also, the text is very easy to read. Both children and adults will love T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes! This story is out now, so definitely pick up your copy!

Note: I received a complementary copy of T-Rexes Can’t Tie Their Shoes from Turn the Page Tours. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Giveaway

Up for grabs is one (1) copy of T-REXES CAN’T TIE THEIR SHOES! This giveaway is limited to US readers only.

Click here for your chance to win!

Weekend Purple Leaf

Check out the schedule for a list of the amazing bloggers and bookstagrammers taking part in this tour!

Weekend Purple Leaf

Contact Cathleen!

Book Blitz: Still Water by Amy Stuart

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Thursday!

This week I’m partnering with Love Books Tours to bring you ‘Still Water’ by Amy Stuart! This is part of the Clare O’ Dey series. I usually read a mix of Historical Fiction and Thrillers, so ‘Still Water’ is a great addition to my list!

Still Water: Book Blurb

How do you find the truth in a town full of secrets?

When Sally Proulx and her son mysteriously disappear from the stormy town of High River, Clare O’Dey is hired to track them down. She hopes to find them alive, but High River is not a typical town. It is a place where women go to escape their past. The women run to Helen Haines, the community matriarch, who offers them safe haven and anonymity.

Pretending to be Sally’s long lost friend, Clare starts asking questions but nothing prepares her for the deception and lies simmering beneath the surface of this quiet little neighbourhood. As the truth surges through High River, Clare must confront the thing she has been so desperately running from, even if it comes at a devastating cost.

Gripping, twisty and compulsive, Still Water is a deep dive of a thriller that will leave you breathless! Perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Liz Nugent.

Amazon Link

Amy Stuart’s Twitter & Instagram

A look at Canelo Crime!

Contact Cathleen!