Book Blitz: Still Water by Amy Stuart

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Thursday!

This week I’m partnering with Love Books Tours to bring you ‘Still Water’ by Amy Stuart! This is part of the Clare O’ Dey series. I usually read a mix of Historical Fiction and Thrillers, so ‘Still Water’ is a great addition to my list!

Still Water: Book Blurb

How do you find the truth in a town full of secrets?

When Sally Proulx and her son mysteriously disappear from the stormy town of High River, Clare O’Dey is hired to track them down. She hopes to find them alive, but High River is not a typical town. It is a place where women go to escape their past. The women run to Helen Haines, the community matriarch, who offers them safe haven and anonymity.

Pretending to be Sally’s long lost friend, Clare starts asking questions but nothing prepares her for the deception and lies simmering beneath the surface of this quiet little neighbourhood. As the truth surges through High River, Clare must confront the thing she has been so desperately running from, even if it comes at a devastating cost.

Gripping, twisty and compulsive, Still Water is a deep dive of a thriller that will leave you breathless! Perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Liz Nugent.

Amazon Link

Amy Stuart’s Twitter & Instagram

A look at Canelo Crime!

Contact Cathleen!

Waiting on Wednesday: May 20

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme originally created by Jill @Breaking The Spine. This post spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

This Week’s Post:

The Project by Courtney Summers

Ever since Courtney Summers shared news about The Project on Twitter, I got so excited! It sounds like it’s going to be one creepy read!

Synopsis

The next pulls-no-punches thriller from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Courtney Summers, about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister from a cult.

“The Unity Project saved my life.”

Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died, Lo’s sister, Bea, joined The Unity Project, leaving Lo in the care of their great aunt. Thanks to its extensive charitable work and community outreach, The Unity Project has won the hearts and minds of most in the Upstate New York region, but Lo knows there’s more to the group than meets the eye. She’s spent the last six years of her life trying–and failing–to prove it.

“The Unity Project murdered my son.”

When a man shows up at the magazine Lo works for claiming The Unity Project killed his son, Lo sees the perfect opportunity to expose the group and reunite with Bea once and for all. When her investigation puts her in the direct path of its charismatic and mysterious leader, Lev Warren, he proposes a deal: if she can prove the worst of her suspicions about The Unity Project, she may expose them. If she can’t, she must finally leave them alone.

But as Lo delves deeper into The Project, the lives of its members, and spends more time with Lev, it upends everything she thought she knew about her sister, herself, cults, and the world around her–to the point she can no longer tell what’s real or true. Lo never thought she could afford to believe in Lev Warren . . . but now she doesn’t know if she can afford not to.

Welcome to The Unity Project.

Are you also excited about The Project? Let me know in the comments!

Connect With Me:

NetGalley Mini Reviews: May 9

I’m excited to share my thoughts on these digital reads!

I have two digital review copies to share with you. I received these books from NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own!

Thank You, Miyuki by Roxane Marie Galliez
Illustrated by Seng Soun Ratanavanh
Length: 32 pages
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Publisher: Princeton Architectural Press
Release Date: September 1, 2020

My Thoughts

I adored this story about a child and her grandfather bonding through mindfulness and meditation. Miyuki is fascinated with her grandfather’s morning meditation ritual, so he guides her through the process. Using real life experiences, Miyuki’s grandfather teaches her how to stay mindful while staying aware of her surroundings.
The bond between Miyuki and her grandfather is simply precious! I also enjoyed the eye-catching illustrations on every page. This would be a very useful book for children to marvel at the beauty of a spring and summer day during moments of calm!



Until I Find You by Rea Frey
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Length: 320 pages
Genre: Thriller
Release Date: August 11, 2020

My Thoughts

Rebecca’s journey in proving her son’s absence was truly intense! As a young mother handling a degenerative eye condition, Rebecca already has the odds stacked against her. The journey in finding her son adds another arduous task to an already stacked list of challenges!

Rebecca’s life turns like a tide as her condition slowly threatens to take over her life, which adds to the tension in this tale. Until I Find You had me constantly wondering what would happen next in Rebecca’s plight. It will definitely leave readers on edge!

What are your thoughts about these books? Feel free to share below!

Connect With Me: