Book Quotes: Ruthless Gods by Emily A. Duncan (April 11)

I hope everyone is having a smooth Saturday!

Since Ruthless Gods by Emily A. Duncan (Wednesday Books) was released a few days ago, I decided to post some book quotes that really resonated for me while reading it.

Make sure you order your copy of both Wicked Saints and Ruthless Gods. It’s a wonderful gothic fantasy!

Book Quotes:

‘I know the truth of the darkness you harbor’.

“Her grasp of…reality is questionable.”
“Speak for yourself,” Nadya muttered.

‘The gods had a twisted sense of humor to send him right back to her right when she was trying to save an abomination of a boy instead.’

‘If this is all a game to you, I don’t want any part of it.’
“Yes,” he said sharply. “Because I’m nothing but a monster. It’s what I always will be.”

“Please don’t make me want to toss you over the edge more than I already do.”
He glanced down dubiously. “Oh, I’d survive that.”
“Pity.”

“She…cares,” he finally said.
“Not enough to help me keep my throne.”

I hope everyone has a calm weekend!

Connect with me:

Back Home

‘Wicked Saints’ by Emily A. Duncan/A Review

‘Wicked Saints’ by Emily A. Duncan
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Length: 384 pages
Genre: YA Fantasy
Book 1 of 3
Release Date: April 2, 2019

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself.
A prince in danger must decide who to trust.
A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.
Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war.

In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy.

My Thoughts:

I received Wicked Saints through OwlCrate several months ago, but haven’t gotten to reading it until very recently. Since it was Spookathon last week, I made it a point to read this book, since it’s a very appropriate, dark setting!

‘Wicked Saints’ is Emily A. Duncan’s debut novel, the first installment in the ‘Something Dark and Holy’ trilogy. It centers around a young Kalyazi cleric named Nadya, gifted with the power to communicate with the gods in order to wield powerful magic. The story opens with Nadya’s monastery getting attacked and destroyed by the Tranavian army, the unfortunate consequence of a war waging for a century between the two nations. This leaves Nadya on a mission to defeat the King of Tranavia and overthrow his empire. Along the way she meets Malachiasz, a blood mage who holds his own secret agenda, and represents everything Nadya stands against. Despite their tumultuous (and at times fiery) chemistry, they devise a plot to gain access into the Tranavian empire, whose High Prince Serefin is swept into a complicated political game that’s equally entertaining and devious.

Of course, I know that a huge focal point of Wicked Saints is the romantic plot line, (and it certainly made waves!), but I was also drawn into the religious discourse between Nadya and Malachiasz. They both use magic for their own personal gain, yet use different methods in reaching that goal. Their banter involving faith and religion throughout the book was very insightful, as Nadya’s argument stems from her ability in communicating with her gods, while Malachiasz describes a vastly different, method in attaining magic (using spell work to reach his goal). Nadya and Malachiasz are two powerful beings who steadfastly hold onto their beliefs. This heated discourse strengthens their desire toward each other. They both know it’s a forbidden attraction, yet the need becomes increasingly harder to ignore.

Wicked Saints is a multiple perspective novel, as it alternates between Nadya and Serefin’s (High Prince of Tranavia) point of view. After their initial contact in the beginning of the story, their paths diverge on their own journeys. As you follow each perspective, you learn that both characters have their personal goal to attain, trying to live up to their ultimate destinies that becomes increasingly harder to grasp in their minds from startling revelations. Their paths hold their own separate road, culminating to a significant plot twist.

This book displays the perfect ‘hate-to-love’ reading trope, as Nadya and Malachiasz’s lengthy discussions lead to quite a bit of romantic tension throughout the novel. And I loved the portrayal of Serefin, and how his purpose to end the war somehow shifts when his father aimed to distract him, for his own personal gain.

I’m glad that I finally gave Wicked Saints a read, and I can’t wait to find out what’s next among these three characters!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Current Book Aesthetic/Blogtober Day 20

I’m participating in The Library Looter & Anniek’s Library Blogtober challenge!

I’m currently reading ‘Wicked Saints’ by Emily A. Duncan. It’s part of Spookathon, and I’m still working through it. It’s an enjoyable tale, since I love stories involving dark magic and complicated social dynamics!

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself.

A prince in danger must decide who to trust.

A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.

Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war.

In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy..

All images were found on Pixelbay

I hope everyone’s Sunday is going well!

My Disneyathon/August TBR

Next month I’m trying my hand at the Disneyathon (Disney Reasathon) throughout the month of August. I don’t need to read Disney-related stories (but I am tempted in reading the Descendants stories!), but this readathon is divided into teams. I signed up for Team Mulan; I already own one of the group books, and I love Princess Mulan!

The following are the prompts for Team Mulan:

Read a book with at least 500 words

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I picked up Outlander a couple months ago, so I can’t wait to finally begin reading it! It’s well over 500 pages (almost 800!), and I haven’t watched the program (surprisingly), so it should be fun!

Synopsis:
The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Read a book that features a ‘squad’

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan

The moment I heard about Emily Duncan’s debut novel, I wanted to buy it right away! It has a dark premise that I appreciate in stories. Very excited to finally read this book!

Synopsis:

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself.
A prince in danger must decide who to trust.
A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.

Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war.

In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy.


Read a book with a strong female lead

Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Prieto

I also received Crown of Feathers through OwlCrate. They put out great fantasy books! This is Nicki Pau Prieto’s debut novel.

Synopsis:
I had a sister, once…

In a world ruled by fierce warrior queens, a grand empire was built upon the backs of Phoenix Riders—legendary heroes who soared through the sky on wings of fire—until a war between two sisters ripped it all apart.

I promised her the throne would not come between us.

Sixteen years later, Veronyka is a war orphan who dreams of becoming a Phoenix Rider from the stories of old. After a shocking betrayal from her controlling sister, Veronyka strikes out alone to find the Riders—even if that means disguising herself as a boy to join their ranks.

But it is a fact of life that one must kill or be killed. Rule or be ruled.

Just as Veronyka finally feels like she belongs, her sister turns up and reveals a tangled web of lies between them that will change everything. And meanwhile, the new empire has learned of the Riders’ return and intends to destroy them once and for all.

Sometimes the title of queen is given. Sometimes it must be taken.

Read a YA Romance

Again, but Better by Christine Riccio

Again, but Better is Christine Riccio’s debut novel. She is a well known Book Tube personality who took the plunge in writing her first book!

Synopsis:
Shane has been doing college all wrong. Pre-med, stellar grades, and happy parents…sounds ideal—but Shane’s made zero friends, goes home every weekend, and romance…what’s that?
Her life has been dorm, dining hall, class, repeat. Time’s a ticking, and she needs a change—there’s nothing like moving to a new country to really mix things up. Shane signs up for a semester abroad in London. She’s going to right all her college mistakes: make friends, pursue boys, and find adventure!

Easier said than done. She is soon faced with the complicated realities of living outside her bubble, and when self-doubt sneaks in, her new life starts to fall apart.
Shane comes to find that, with the right amount of courage and determination one can conquer anything. Throw in some fate and a touch of magic—the possibilities are endless.


Group Book

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

Team Mulan has the option of reading either Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim or Circe by Madeleine Miller. Since I already have a copy of Spin the Dawn (thanks to OwlCrate), this will be my group book of choice!

Synopsis:
Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.